Summertime Trilogy – Part One

I searched the heavens over

With my peering looking glass,

To find a special beauty

Concealed within the stars.

 

A vision to astound me,

To make me feel at home.

A spectacle to come and comfort

When I find myself alone.

 

Although, right there in the shadows

Wrapped in satin veils

A lone star shone before me,

Its bluish light so pale.

 

Like a comet in the summer sky

She flew with scorching tails,

To light the unlit darkness

When all the heavens fail.

 

She flew like burning stardust

Like a wonder never seen,

Exploding in the summer sky

In a mass of blue and green.

 

She calmed the yellow sunrise

To scorch the tepid sea.

She wandered like the silver moon

Across the skies to me.

© Copyright Stephen Duffy 1995

One comment

Leave a comment